Greyhound Shenanigins and Mystery Plant: Is a Mystery

So I moved my entire plant hoard out to the sun room yesterday where they will be much happier. I don’t miss them, yet. It gets to be quite a jungle here in the winter! Even so, the weather has been terrible. Cold and windy. Hopefully everyone does okay out there, despite the awful weather!

My seedlings are still just doing awful and I think next year I might invest in a grow light. It’s been either too windy or too cold or some combination of both and they are just miserable. I might have to buy potted ones at the store for my garden, which I am not looking forward too. Last year, they were growing like mad and couldn’t wait to be put in the ground, this year, I’ve had to replant and pray mostly.

But, we did have the future in-laws and out-laws over for dinner last night. I made pull apart rolls and we cleaned the house top to bottom. And then…

wpid-20140412_120636.jpgthis face…would never mess the carpet…surely, it was an imposter!

The greyhound ate a peanut. Now, big deal. One peanut. However, the greyhound, Angie, has about half her teeth. Which is quite common in Italian Greyhounds. To the point that when I was weeping to the vet “where did I go wrong?” she rolled her eyes at me. Hey, I brushed her teeth too! Anyway, she has about half left and does this magical, almost snakelike swallowing of food. Which is why I know she ate a peanut. When she decides to not chew these things, they come out exactly like they were only, um, muckier and give her the runs. On our freshly steam cleaned carpet. Thankfully the steam cleaner was still out.

After that, I decided to put her in her kennel to keep her calm and a better eye on her. She didn’t need to deal with a bunch of people running all over our house trying to feed he scraps. So the poor greyhound slept on blankets that I warmed in the dryer in her kennel. She’s got a tough life. Today she seems better, I took a half day off at work to keep an eye on her. She’s been chasing squirrels, so she must feel better?

Did I tell you she treed a possum? Idiot! She’s all of 17 pounds. We have a possum that comes in our yard, usually very early in the morning, like 4 am to 5. I’ve seen him a couple of times and I don’t really worry too much because he’s long gone by the time the greyhound decides to join the waking world, like 8 am at the earliest. Lazy creature. So the other day she decided she wanted to hang out with me in the morning around 6 am. I let her out right away and she turns into a streak of black headed for the corner of our yard. This thing can run fast. I see the possum, bumbling toward a tree and THANK GOD she slowed down, otherwise she would have been on top of him. Confused that he didn’t want to play with her and I was screaming my fool head off, she backed off. He hauled his bulk up a tree, we all stared at one another for a minute, mumbling apologies and then Angie decided to come in the house. She just can’t understand why the THINGS OUTSIDE DON’T WANT TO PLAY WITH HER.

About that mystery plant. It showed up in my now-lucky-formerly-unlucky bamboo. Is it a new shoot? Is it another plant? Is it a ROGUE?

wpid-20140428_100148.jpgmuch happier. they still probably think I am a jerk.

wpid-20140428_100140.jpgwassssup, ladies!

How exciting! I can’t wait to see what it is! I was hoping to share some pictures of the plant hoard in their more natural environment, but it’s just too dark and dismal. Shall we plan for another day?

xxxbmg

 

8 thoughts on “Greyhound Shenanigins and Mystery Plant: Is a Mystery

  1. We have a mystery pooper in our house. Two dogs and one cat and one of them keeps pooping in random rooms. Haven’t caught the culprit yet, but when I do… I’ll know who it is. ^_^

    • Omg. I know! My grandma’s lab, Cabana would eat a cornucopia of odd things! But they are excellent swimmers. Angie just sinks…don’t ask me how I know! 😉

      • LOL. My Dad & StepMum have a whippet cross saluki lurcher (Blue) and my friends Sam and Josh have a greyhound cross saluki lurcher so I’m well acquainted with the breed. Blue will paddle a little way into the sea and then look at Mollie in horror/ amazement as she gets thoroughly wet….

Leave a comment