Yard Plastic and Rock Hoarding.

On this episode of what BMary Hoards, rocks.

Yep. I hoard rocks. Well, I have my reasons:

  • You can’t just go out and buy large rocks
  • When I was a kid, we had big rocks that were my imaginary kitchen outside. Makes excellent mud pies.
  • Rocks are always interesting.
  • They are free and useful for decorating outside.

To the point, the house that I live in had a beautiful yard at one time. The person before the person before us was a serious landscaper. There’s a million flowers, beautiful flowering trees, plenty of plant-scaping. There’s also a big berm that at one point must have been breath taking. Fast forward:

The people that owned the house before us did not make any attempt to take care of the outside. It’s gone wild, which is fine by me, but I find all sorts of lovely treasures. And some not so lovely ones. So we are trying to rein it all in without losing some of the nice flowers and shrubs. The berm has to go. It’s turned into a pile of mud with a stick tree and like 2 tulips. Very depressing. We called up our neighbor who has a bobcat to dig it up. While we were out there messing around and consuming adult beverages, I noticed there were some rocks buried in the berm. Hmmmmm…

After he left, with a promise to return soon to flatten the berm, I finally had enough adult beverages to balance out the this-is-probably-a-bad-idea-but-i’m-doing-it-right-now and tore out all the plastic barriers that were around the various former garden areas.

wpid-20140428_121458.jpgthis stuff…lo, how i despise this stuff

I’ve literally hated that feature of the yard ever since I spied my eyes on it. Why would you try to trap a garden like that? Why would you use hideous black plastic? And it was EVERYWHERE. Even around a stone pathway! I’m sure there is a reason, but who cares! I tore it all out in a frenzy.

wpid-20140428_121434.jpgewww, just look at it.

Then I got started on the rocks. We dug out all of the big rocks around the berm. How fantastic! Now, using the rocks as a barrier around the pathway (the idiot also put gravel around it, so we can’t have that in the mower) it looks 100% better.

wpid-20140428_121419.jpgI should “weed” but frankly, I’d rather dig all that stupid gravel out, replace the pathway and let it sink naturally.

wpid-20140428_121305.jpgwe had more than enough, apparently, so we put some by the tree.

I wouldn’t say I am a good landscaper, frankly, I like my grass long and my weeds high. Sure, I like a food garden and a small flower garden, but I love the look of natural wild plants. So I am kind of at a loss. One flower bed we are going to dig up and make an herb bed. The others I am going to attempt to clean up and preserve. If we ever get some real spring around here, maybe I can get to that!

7 thoughts on “Yard Plastic and Rock Hoarding.

  1. If you lived by me, I’d let you have all of our rocks. We can’t give those things away. Ha! ^_^ We live in a place where xeriscaping is a thing. It’s great for the environment, esp in a drought stricken area like ours, but done wrong, it’s just… ugly! >_<

    I'm with you on the plastic barriers. The rocks look much better.

    • Ha! Oh don’t encourage me! When I’m out and about sometimes I take a few rocks home! I just honestly have no idea how to landscape. I like dirt and rocks and grass and I have no idea how to make it “pretty”.

      I just don’t understand why the plastic was everywhere. Seriously, five different large sections. I wonder if she used mulch or something. She even had it around the a few trees. What, is it a tree cage? Why???????

  2. Thank goodness for your post, after dragging a couple of rocks home, Beloved thought I was loosing touch with reality, now I can feel justified as obviously it’s ‘the in thing’

Leave a Reply

