Starting the Garden…(PLUS A SUPER COOL AWESOME THING!)

Hurray! Time to start the garden! I couldn’t take much more of this non-dirt eating winter. We got some seeds and some jiffy pots this weekend and I got them started on my lovely work bench, built by my fiance, just for me:

wpid-20140216_142959.jpgi straight up argued that he has THREE work benches and i had precisely zero. HOW CAN I HOARD PLANTS WITHOUT A PLACE TO MANEUVER THEM?!?

On to the potting. I made a few mistakes in years before, I wrote the names of the seeds directly on the jiffy pots in sharpie and, um, well that washed off. I’m not always clever. Also last year I didn’t soak my soil really well so that was a major pain in the rear end trying to get the soil to soak in a fragile jiffy pot. My final mistake was I used a TON of seeds in each little pot. Again, I have the more is more attitude that doesn’t always pay off. Last year we had to buy seedlings because we didn’t get ours started on time. WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! So this year my goal was to be way more organized about the whole procedure. Success will happen!!

wpid-20140216_143107.jpghere’s our haul, roma and heirloom tomatoes, hot wax peppers, jalapenos, red and green peppers and a secret BONUS OF AWESOME which I will reveal later!

I decided to soak the soil really good in a clay pot that I was going to plant SOMETHING AWESOME THAT I WILL TELL YOU LATER ABOUT in. I also prepared some roasting pans to keep my little children in so they can be hauled around easily. A notebook, for recording the seeds, seeds per pot and other related bits of interest which I will update as I go. A sharpie and masking tape to label everybody. Jiffy pots, obviously and dirt, obviously.

wpid-20140216_150538.jpgmise en place

wpid-20140216_151143.jpgload em up. don’t mind my terrible handwriting. i’m a leftie. if you want to die a little inside, watch me use a can opener.

wpid-20140216_154800.jpgmove em out!

Now that I am all done with that, I get to tell you about my SUPER AWESOME THING. Watch this video, it’s a whole minute:

WHAT LUCKY GIRL HAS TWO THUMBS AND A WONDERFUL GUY THAT BOUGHT HER SOME MIMOSA PUDICA AKA SENSITIVE PLANT SEEDS FOR HER BIRTHDAY LAST YEAR?!?!?!

wpid-20140216_164458.jpgHINT: crazy eyes and the complete inability to not take a stupid picture of herself

How exciting! I have literally wanted a sensitive plant since I was like 4 and saw them at the botanical gardens, I think we were in Colorado. I don’t remember. I just remember being smitten. Just smitten. Before my birthday, for giggles I googled what type of plant it was and turns out, it’s a weed! And it costs like a whole dollar for a pack of seeds! Add it to the list! I am pretty easy to please. I also got a bonus pack of Rose of Sharon bushes seeds. Those will be a later story. On to my sensitive plant!!!

wpid-20140216_154202.jpgi am literally humming with excitement over a pot full of wet dirt and five seeds that as of yet have done nothing…

I can’t wait until that starts sprouting! I promise to keep you updated because I am very confident that I won’t be able to shut up about it.

Next, some updates on my other friends in the plant world:

wpid-20140216_160558.jpgwe’re things!

The regrow romaine and celery project continues to do stuff and be things.

wpid-20140216_160713.jpgnot ready yet, still baking

And the amaryllis is cranking away!

So hopefully this year’s garden will be a major success! I’ve learned a thing or two about the lighting in our garden area, what to plant and how many. Here’s to a big crop of home grown food! Cheers!

13 thoughts on “Starting the Garden…(PLUS A SUPER COOL AWESOME THING!)

  1. It’s great to be excited about gardening… The closest I’m coming to it at this point is that I’m about to dump some soil in a big bin and throw some rooting potatoes in there and see what happens. ^_^ One day I’ll have a real garden.

Leave a Reply

