Smoky Mountains Tennessee

I’M BACK. With Moonshine

Put this on:

yes, i caught a southern accent while there. omg, i’m such a damnyankee. it’s gone now, thankfully.

Anyway, we had an absolute blast! Our cabin was lovely, in the mountains, driving up/down the mountain was terrifying. You could smell the brakes. So our original plan was to get to the cabin, To Catch A Falling Star, and drop off our stuff and get some groceries. Well, getting seven flatlanders from Illinois up that kind of incline, kind of made us never want to go back down…so we ordered pizza. Pro Tip: If you order pizza, and ask the delivery driver to bring coffee grounds (we couldn’t live without it) and offer him extra tip, he totally will. Duh.

wpid-20150417_143151.jpg

i cropped out the tourist trap area.

No one told me that Gatlinburg/Pigeon ForgeΒ was a TOURIST TRAP. Oh my Lord. It was like being at the Dells in WIS. It was ridiculous! But hey, it was fun. We did some tourist stuff.

wpid-20150417_150800.jpg

this was a serious tourist trap, but the moonshine was delicious!

Also, we did a chair ride to catch the view:

wpid-20150417_142526.jpg

you can see that IT’S A TRAP!

We also did some hiking, or, more accurately, rambling in the woods taking seflies and eating snacks. Let me set up the scene:

The photographer has been waiting all day for the light. His camera is set up, film is ready, now he waits. He wants a picture of a small group of falls. Just as the light gets right, seven kids (me in the trunk, btw) pile out of a car making off color jokes, eating snacks and taking selfies. He hates us.

wpid-20150418_130524.jpg

really, I would hate us too.

wpid-20150418_113556.jpg

wpid-20150418_114859.jpg

wpid-20150418_114855.jpg

wpid-20150418_115330.jpg

wpid-20150418_122311.jpg

wpid-20150418_130557.jpg

wpid-20150418_130748.jpg

So after we ruined everyone’s day at the national park…

We had a hot tub, which we used liberally and a LOT of alcohol. It was a damn fine time. My husband was “house husband” and being the only male, got a fine taste of how polygamy must be awful. Poor guy. We had a great time though! πŸ˜€

12 thoughts on “Smoky Mountains Tennessee

  1. Wow,a beautiful place!! I like it very very much… I have to make my Big man marry me and spend our honeymoon in the USA…. LOL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • I’ve been all over the US, the only place I haven’t been yet is North East, New York, Maine, et cetera. One of these days, I’ll get out there. If you ever come out, make sure you’ve got plenty of time! There is so much to see!

      • It took us 10 hours to get to Tennessee! I think it’s 6 to get from where I am in Illinois to the bottom! I’m always surprised how long it takes. Everything looks so close on the map!

      • He he he you’re right πŸ™‚ Well, it takes me 6 hours too to go home from Parma…. even if everything seems so close thanks to Internet, the reality is that the world is still big… and I’m happy for that πŸ™‚ I think that a flight from Europe to the USA takes 12 hours… that must be exciting…. I love to travel πŸ™‚

  2. My dear,I have never been on a plane, but, even if I’m scared to death, I would not loose the occasion to take one and come to the USA, it that would ever happen…

    • If I recall correctly, it’s mostly tedious. And you ears pop. But, again, I was a little girl. I flew (all by myself! With the pilot nearby!) a small plane. That was crazy. Granted, all I did was steer, but it was crazy!

Leave a Reply

