No Poo Number Three “Sebum Only”

Sorry I’ve been away for a bit. Nothing interesting happened and I was busy playing with trouble kitty and working. I did managed to have a lot of fun. Fall is awesome this year, the weather is great! I haven’t had a desire to be inside. I’ll post some photos at the bottom of this, just for fun.

I’ve never been a big fan of rules. I’m a libertarian, after all. Why did the chicken cross the road? NONE OF YOUR BUSINESS AND AM I BEING DETAINED?

wpid-2014-10-12-19.48.25.png.pngproof that I was being an idiot with a foam finger long before miley cyrus was out of diapers!

As you may recall, I have been no poo for some time and was to the point where I was only using water to “wash” my hair. That was all fine and dandy until I became aware that my hair was kind of dry on the ends. At first, I thought a good haircut would do the trick, I used to wear my hair up all the time and thought that I had a lot of breakage from that. I’ll be honest, genetically, I have terrible hair. Thin and wispy. My mother couldn’t get hers past her shoulders. The fact that I even can mange moderately long hair is a miracle. It used to be a lot worse until I went no poo.

I got my hair cut, professionally. This was a big step for me as I am very leery of hairdressers. I’ve gotten a mommy mullet cut when I was entirely too young for such a terrible hair cut, so I have my reasons. Obviously, mommy mullet was not my intended hair cut. I have legitimately never had a good experience with a professional cut, style or color.  Anyway, the woman there did a great job. She actually just simply did what I asked her. How novel.

After that, it was still dry. Okay, fine. I dumped a bit of coconut oil on it and brushed, brushed, brushed. That helped phenomenally. Then I came across the “sebum only” concept. I paid it very little mind until I read that too much water can make your hair dry. Cue light bulb over my head.

Okay, then, let’s give it a swing. For a week I did not get my hair wet. I showered (I’m not completely disgusting) and avoided getting my hair wet. I kept it in braids, because after 4 days, I was getting pretty greasy. No one noticed. Day 8 I decided I was sick of putting my hair up so I took a nice tub soak and scrubbed my scalp. When dry, it actually looked much better, believe it or not. My ends looked much more moisturized. So now, three days since that bath, this is my hair:

wpid-20141017_104008.jpgI would call this a good hair day!

My head does smell a bit mustier than usual, but not terrible, I’m still getting the swing of this. The ends are a lot better. I am going to try to go a week and a half without wetting it. Baby steps. Also I am brushing like a madwoman and am going to ramp up how often I clean my brushes. Wish me luck!

As promised, here are some photos of my recent adventures:

 wpid-20141016_110528.jpgtrouble kitty is watching you make stool

wpid-20141010_165821.jpgour backyard red maple

 wpid-20141007_103808.jpgstarted some granny squares for a hoodie, inspired by this post.

 wpid-20141005_141003.jpganother road trip scarf for a friend

wpid-20141005_140519.jpgangie and abraham are getting along

 wpid-20140927_112558.jpgthe baby fish are getting big!! there’s four

wpid-20140930_180951.jpgstunning view i thought

wpid-20141001_075736.jpgour red maple again. such a beautiful tree.

Ok, that’s it for now! I have to go pick up a kombacha scoby for a friend. I got a lead on it and my friend wants one, so I’m off! Have a great day and I’ll be back to check on you all in a little bit!

12 thoughts on “No Poo Number Three “Sebum Only”

      • Exactly. Nothing. I’ve been reading a group on facebook that’s no poo but I’m amazed at the amount of stuff some of them seem to throw at their hair and it seems like an immense amount of hassle.. Egg wash, rye flour, coconut oil, mashed banana, henna etc etc. Seems like making your hair dirty to me.

      • Lol! I know! I follow one of those groups too and I’m like, whoa, relax guys! As long as they’re having fun, I suppose, but I follow the rules of K.I.S.S. which are Keep It Simple, Stupid.

      • Yep true. I’m a bit confused. I wanted to go no poo to reduce the stuff I use and not put it in the water supply. The idea of having to create all kinds of weird concoctions myself instead seems counter productive. Plus I’m enjoying leaving my hair alone.

      • I honestly think that’s why a lot of people have problems. They just keep playing with it and they never get to the “no poo” part of no poo. I was really surprised when I saw that there were people who had been doing no poo for years and were still playing with concoctions. I as well, thought the point was to have natural hair. Ah well! If we were all the same, we’d all be dreadfully boring.

      • It’s good to know that was your reaction too. I’m pleased people are trying to reduce but I particularly dislike them using food on their hair. I think food is for eating myself. But I guess sometimes hair types make it tougher too. I suspect it’s also vos my third reason was simply laziness. I don’t have to buy shampoo, use shampoo, think about shampoo, carry shampoo around with me….

  1. My skin has been very sensitive since the cancer..I have been using an organic (everything) shampoo with no sulfate and same for the conditioner and my hair is soft and my scalp isn’t irritated as it can be so I am pretty happy about that. But I have to wash it as I am always in the yard and thereare always leaf bits or a sunflower seed washing out which I would rather not keep on a long term basis.. Your hair looks very pretty…Michelle

    • Thank you! I’m pretty excited to move on to the next (final?) step in no poo. It’s a little odd, but it works wonders. I work in a factory so I know what you mean about bits of things in your hair! Ugh! Right now the factory is LOADED outside with box elder bugs and they are everywhere! Including landing on my head 😦

Leave a Reply

