Taking a Break

So I know I haven’t been posting much at all, and not for lack of going ons! I did work on that commercial I talked about, it went lovely. My good friend got married in a beautiful ceremony. My brother had a wonderful birthday. We’re dog sitting a very silly collie named Dolly. I discovered one of my old friends is a bee keeper. My dad is building his dream home. I’ve been crocheting away.

But I just can’t. And, here’s where I ramble and get overly personal.

Lucia the cat is better. She’s responding to fluids and the antibiotics. She getting a ridiculous amount of foods she deems tasty, chicken, tuna. She is getting a constant lap to cuddle on, as she prefers it. She purrs, she kneads. She’s has another vet appointment next Tuesday. We’re basically on kitty dialysis and it reminds me of when my mother was sick before she died in 2003. I’m just so sad and worried. Lucia has been with me, ever since I moved out of my dad’s home. I found her sitting in the passenger seat of my jeep two days before I moved. She was friendly. I took her to my new place. She was with me when I was counting change for food and gas. She had food, obviously. I never could afford to get her fixed until she was entirely too old for that nonsense. She cuddled lonely cold nights away, when the heat went out in the winter. Right next to me, like a little spoon. She does this still. She was with me when I screwed up, when I was a horrible excuse for a human. When I was mean and bitter. When I lost my grandparents to old age. When I lost my aunt to cancer. When I lost my childhood best friend to cancer. She mothered a rescued kitten that was not her own. She mothered Angie, the dog. She protected a roommate’s hampster from another dog, on of her friend’s dogs was too keen on it. Jumped right on the hamster and turned teeth and claws to the dog. She grooms Angie. She’s very tolerant of bathtime and purrs and tries to cuddle with the vets. She got out once, it was New Year’s Eve and she got into the hallway of my old apartment and a neighbor threw her outside. Despite her collar. This was before I tagged her, I figured she’d have to escape two doors. I didn’t notice because I was tired and it was late. A girl found her, right outside the window.  Thankfully, she was a friend of a friend of a friend and word got back to me. I was so happy when I took her back home. I moved shortly thereafter. She was there when my old cat, Vincent died. She called and looked for him. He was a rescue too, from a parking lot.

image

My three idiots. Years and years ago. In order, Lucia, Angie and Vincent.

I love my kitty very much. Who’s going to check if my crochet is comfortable enough to sleep on?

So I’m taking a break, even though I’ve sort of been on a break. Until this is over. I will let you all know. Who knows? Maybe she’ll perk up and I’ll have a good laugh about how much of a downer I’ve been about this later on the road. Maybe I have months left with her. I don’t know. And it’s breaking my heart. Thank you for reading.

4 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. I just want you to know that I’ve been thinking about you and your kitty. I realize how difficult it is when our furbabies get this close to passing on. I want you to know you’re in my thoughts because even though we don’t know each other personally, I do care, and you’re not alone. I just thought you should know that.

Leave a Reply

