The Stash Busting Blanket That Would Not End…

At some point last year I started a stash busting blanket. Out of all the things I hoard, Lord knows, I hate hoarding yarn. Rocks are apparently fine. When I am done with a project, I wish it would magically disappear and I would never have to look at it again. I don’t get it. But, whatever. So, big surprise, I have a LOAD of yarn. Ok, it’s organized and in a bin, but IT’S STILL THERE. I attempted to rid myself of it, inspired by a blanket one of my friends had. It was rows of single crochet with a spike stitch here or there and all different colors.

Seems easy right? Well…it’s not square. Nope, not even close. I thought, because I am CLEARLY so CLEVER I would never mess this up…

wpid-20140724_110608.jpgnope.

I did the adult thing and pretended it didn’t exist for a while until it was brought to my attention that WIPs should be finished, by the lovely blog, Mollie & Claire in this post. Now I have the WIP of guilt. The WIP of SHAME.

I’ve tried to correct it’s lack of squareness, but i just keep pulling out rows and rows and rows and it’s still not square. Ugh. I decided to start over.

wpid-20140724_110720.jpgthis must be what insanity is like.

I’m going to pull each row out, one at a time (dear God in Heaven I cannot fathom pulling the whole thing out at once) and hooking it into the new one. So that’s where I am right now, and I am using the magic of STITCH MARKERS which for some reason I keep deeming unnecessary. Probably because I prefer to make…not squares? I have no idea. But anyway, it’s back on track!

We had some produce from the garden finally! Now that Illinois has stopped puking rain all day, the tomatoes and zucchini and peppers are finally getting into shape!

wpid-20140721_181402.jpgFINALLY, GUYS!

Now, of course, I have a pile of zucchini, so I am making what I call “zucchini hummus,” which is fried zucchini, garlic and seasoning thrown into a blender. It’s pretty darn good and it freezes pretty good. Put it on home made pitas or noodles. I love it. Our tomatoes are getting there, so far just little cherry tomatoes which is better than none. We’ve got a few big ones working on turning red. I might sacrifice a few to become fried green tomatoes. Which are insanely addictive. I can eat quite a few of them!

I also finished something for a friend, just because I had yarn laying around and I had to go into the circle of hell known as the DMV. Let’s just sum up that day with “I spent 4 hours at the DMV and it was terrible. But I made something for a friend, so that part was ok.”

 wpid-20140724_113625.jpgturn to page 216 in thine Crochet Stitch Bible. Thou shalt ‘Begin with 4 CH, 1 SS into first ch made.’ So spake thine Crochet Stitch Bible.

I’ve made this pattern before, it’s cute and easy. It looks a bit fancier than it is. So, thumbs up!

I also went for a very short run today. I’ve mentioned before, I hurt my knee and I went from 6 miles every few days to couch potato. And…got fat. Ah well. Life’s too short to diet. I’m trying it again! My knee doesn’t hurt too much right now, but I’ll keep my eye on it. (P.S. yes, I’ve tried going to the doctor, no Obamacare has not helped in the least bit. In fact, it’s made it sickeningly more frustrating and expensive but I don’t want to talk about it.)

Well, I am going to catch up with you guys a bit and then pop off to get some more rows done today! Have a good day!

9 thoughts on “The Stash Busting Blanket That Would Not End…

  1. You only have to finish it *if you want to*! If you want to not finish that’s ok too! Actually I call my blanket the blanket of guilt but only because I started it for my Mum ages ago and I feel bad I haven’t finished. I also call it the blanket of doom. Because I feel like I’m doomed to do it forever!

    • It’s like I have to finish it now. I totally love the look of the semi finished one, but alas, it’s not square. I’m more enthusiastic about it now, I always try to have a blanket WIP for in between other projects, just because they take so long and they can be a bit mindless, which I like for when I’m watching TV or I am just itching to work on something. I’m thinking about my next blanket already, a full sized one for the bed. I’m debating if I want to do this pattern, only with black, white and grey yarn, or something completely different. I do love the pattern.

  2. Last time I had a WIP that ended up like that, I made an interesting granny square blanket out of it. Just one big ol’ huge granny square. Much easier and way colorful. ^_^

    • I did a version of that for my dog, I called it the insanity blanket. I’d have to ask her permission to show it. It was a big ole granny square.

Leave a Reply

