Quick Update!

Hi!

Okay, I have to go to work in a bit, but I did get a chance to read some of your posts which were, as usual, awesome! I didn’t get all the way down the line, but hopefully I will have some more time tonight. I just wanted to give you a preview of what’s going on.

Illinois still hates me, it hailed. HAILED. Like giant ice chunks from the sky. Our garden looks like it’s going to be okay, but SERIOUSLY, Illinois, go home. You’re drunk. Take a pill and go to bed.

wpid-20140521_082119.jpgwe love you!

Also, I’ve got a monster load of bread to make tonight, I am pulling out my “cold” ingredients now so they are at room temperature when I get home. This is a huge tip to get a better rise out of your bread! Warm up your ingredients! Your bread will rise much better! Seriously, humor me and try it on your next loaf.

wpid-20140521_081903.jpgit’s not like these items are going to turn into a giant mold pile in 7 hours.

Also, little secret between you and I and the fence post. I am using kefir in my bread rather than buttermilk. I don’t feel like buying buttermilk and I have a load of kefir I have to use up. Don’t tell anyone that I am experimenting on them! I highly doubt the bread flavor will change much, so sometimes I just do and keep my mouth shut!

I should be back this evening! We’ve got to abandon the cat and dog at the future in-laws, plant my lazy seedlings that just loved this whole freezing/windy/cloudy spring-winter we’ve had in lovely Illinois and start packing for the vacation! Bare with me guys! It’s been a crazy week!

3 thoughts on “Quick Update!

    • Good call! I’m totally saving the whey next time I make cheese. The dog wanted no part of it! I’ve got a to do list the length of my arm! But, vacation SOON! All the craziness will be worth it!

Leave a Reply

