Vienna Bread, Pitas, Trouble Makin’

well done, sir!

Just want to get this out of the way:

My goal from last Monday to this Monday was to not drive my Jeep. SUCCESS! It took a little maneuvering and extra trips, but I only used my bicycle! And I worked a full gazillion hours! Granted, I did carpool for a few trips, but I feel that it’s still a success! I was hoping to use this:

wpid-20140512_091538.jpgwscottling mentioned one of these in her blog…seriously, read that post, it was pretty interesting!!

but I managed okay with a backpack. I just have to make multiple trips. When I have to get dog food or something, I plan to make use of my granny cart! I got it from my uncle, who doesn’t remember where he got it and it’s just awesome. I intended to put streamers and a little horn on it because I have no shame, but I haven’t gotten around to that yet.

wpid-2014-05-12-16.14.03.png.pngthis is proof that i have no shame. my uncle made me do it! yes I had a few adult beverages and it was a ridiculous amount of fun and like years ago.

Today was my day off and I decided to make pitas and Vienna bread. Pitas, as I have noted before, are good any time and Vienna bread makes great sandwich bread. It’s an enriched loaf, which means it has more than just flour, yeast, water and salt. To start, I need a pate fermentee, which is really just a fancy way of saying pre-ferment.Β  Which is kind of like a flavor boost for bread. Since pitas do not require such fancy fixin’s I started them at the same time. Instead of making whole wheat, like I normally do, I made white pitas. Kind of lame, but not everyone loves whole wheat. And besides, I can make more whole wheat ones for me!

wpid-20140512_082220.jpgIT’S ALIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE!

wpid-20140512_083345.jpgpitas, at rest

wpid-20140512_084339.jpgpate fermentee, at rest

wpid-20140222_135645.jpggreyhound and cat, at rest

I am trying to speed up the process. TECHNICALLY, I should have put the pre-ferment in the fridge over night, but I didn’t have that kind of time. So my reasoning was to finish the pitas and then move on to the Vienna bread, giving it time to work it’s yeast magic…stuff…

wpid-20140512_102919.jpgshaped into balls, roll ’em out, stick ’em in the oven.

wpid-20140512_112448.jpgdelicious!!

So waiting on the Vienna bread, I made a grocery list:

wpid-20140512_091432.jpgi am a lefty. watch me use a can opener and weep.

Then I hopped on the bike to the store. I managed to get most of what I needed at the local place and was starting to ride back when I saw another place I hadn’t been to before. I was under the impression that they only sold grains and like real specific things, so I dropped in for a visit. I did need lentils and they’re sort of a grain, right? Well, it was early in the morning and whomever was working there did not seem to be thrilled to see a smelly, sweaty chick raging in on a bicycle screaming about lentils. But she did point me to the lentils and I would have stayed longer to check it out, but, um, she didn’t seem in the mood. Oh well, I’ll try again. I wouldn’t want to deal with me first thing in the morning either. It’s nothing but off color jokes.

NSFW

I got home and put my stuff away and then went out to buy a lining for the wedding dress! I went to a big box store (booooo!) but there isn’t any locally owned place. Too bad I guess, I brought the top part of the dress in a tote bag and off I went. I looked at about every single purple in the store and went with…

drumroll…

drumroll…

wpid-20140512_123213.jpgwell, it’s certainly purple. i got that right.

wpid-20140512_123231.jpgi like it!

There was a darker purple that I liked better, but it was too dark under the crochet. It looked navy. Oh well, I am please! Now I just have to figure out how to do it! Cost of the wedding dress so far is $72. Suck it, David’s Bridal! That might be a joke only weirdos in the Midwest get. I dunno, any of ya’ll got a ridiculously expensive chain outlet that sells over priced wedding dresses and bridesmaids dresses and are fairly useless? One of my friends is getting married in August and I am a bridesmaid and I DON’T EVEN WANT to tell you how much fun (none) going to David’s Bridal was. Anyway!

I got a ton of fabric so hopefully I am free to make mistakes, but I have a pretty concrete plan of “laying the crochet over the fabric and cutting or something like that.”

That’s my story. Sticking to it. On to Vienna bread!

wpid-20140512_153742.jpgGETTING BUSY UP IN HERRE!

As I mentioned, I prefer this in a bread pan to be used as sandwich bread, which means we have to shape it. Here’s how!

wpid-20140512_153933.jpglay the whole thing out and stretch it into a rectangle, sort of.

wpid-20140512_154030.jpgcut it in half and stretch it to be as long as the pan

wpid-20140512_154055.jpgroll it up, pinching it as you roll

wpid-20140512_154203.jpgstretch out the last bit and pinch the seam as well as you can.

wpid-20140512_154322.jpgturn it seam side down and roll it back and forth a bit so the seam calms down. It doesn’t have to be perfect, unless you’re serving the pope or something. that’s your business.

Set it in the pan and wait for it to rise!

Baked up and ready to eat:

wpid-20140512_172745.jpgwe almost ate the pan

19 thoughts on “Vienna Bread, Pitas, Trouble Makin’

  1. Your bread seems so perfect!!!! I suppose you have a static oven….mine,on the contrary,is ventilated and my bread turns always out with a thick crust….Never had problems with pizzas and focaccia bread but loaves are still a great problem…. 😦

    • Uh oh. You’re going to have to help me out. We’re having slang differences. Is a static oven one that runs on electricity? We just call those electric ovens. Is a ventilated oven one that runs on natural gas? I tried Google but that was no help! Mine runs on electricity, not gas. I’ve used gas ovens before and they’ve been ok. Help me help you! πŸ™‚ I usually turn mine up as hot as it will go (regardless of oven type) for at least 15 mins after its heated. Then I put the bread in, wait 2 minutes, turn the oven to the correct temperature and bake until the loaves hit 200 degrees Celsius. Hope that helps?

      • Pizza is not so difficult….make bread dough as you usually do….I make mine rise for half a day but I knead it again at half time passed.Spread the dough on an oiled tray,put the tomato sauce,salt,oil (better if you have olive extra virgin oil) and oregano and put in oven at 200Β°C for 18 minutes.At the end of this first baking phase,put out the tray and add mozzarella cheese and all the other ingredients you like.If you can’t find the mozzarella cheese, use any melting cheese you like….I don’t know which is used in the US.I come from Croatia and even if Italy is so near my home country,Croatian people prefer and use other types of chesse like gouda cheese…Once the rest of the ingredients are added,put back the pizza in the oven for just five minutes,the time the cheese melts,and then the pizza is ready…..

      • Hmmm, maybe the sauce is where I go wrong! I usually pre-bake the crust and then add sauce and toppings! We usually use mozzarella cheese, we get the ball form, not the shredded, dry, nasty kind they sell in bags. How thin is your crust? I think I leave mine too thick. Living close to Chicago, deep dish pizza (basically imagine a pizza casserole, super thick dough, super thick sauce and toppings) is all the rage here and it’s hard get a thin, crunchy pizza. I stretch mine out to about a centimeter thickness and it ends up being too doughy or when I prebake it without sauce, it ends up being too dry. Also I was told to poke holes in it so that it doesn’t rise, but I imagine putting sauce on first would solve any rampant rising. I’m going to try your advice! πŸ˜€ Thank you!

      • https://www.whirlpool.com.hk/sc_webcat/ecat/product_view.php?id=1161&lang=1
        You can see how big my tray is from this post and have an idea how I make pizza….I make foccaccia bread in the same way….ah the dough is always 1 cm thick…. I do not make holes in the pizza dough,it is not necessary from my point of view,but do made them when made foccaccia bread because in that way the oil I put on top before baking penetrates better…..Try to do as I do,I learnt that method when I moved in Italy….my mum also puts all the ingredients togeder but has often the topping burnt….let me know please… ❀

  2. i made a lot of grammar and writing mistakes in my comments,but I hope I was clear enough in my explanations…. πŸ˜› Have to use English language more…….. πŸ˜›

  3. I love the purple you picked for your dress! It’s gonna look smashing. Way better than anything you’ll ever buy at David’s bridal.

    Also, David’s Bridal is a national chain I’m pretty sure. I’ve seen them in both Virginia and in California so that would be the only explanation for that… Yep, just looked it up — 300 stores in 45 states, Canada, and Puerto Rico (via Wikipedia) so most people will get your joke. And yes, it’s a nightmare. I vaguely remember renting a dress to be a matron of honor from them, and it wasn’t a pleasant experience.

    P.S. Thanks for the shout out! πŸ™‚

    • I’ve started the skirt portion and I’m thinking (at least currently) to make a sash with a bow for the waist. I’m using one of the embroidery options on my sewing machine and it looks good so far! I’ve got a fair plan laid out, as far as I can tell, so here’s to hoping!

      My David’s Bridal experience was nothing but tedious. And expensive! Sure, the dress is okay, but nothing extraordinary. The staff was just too swamped. I’m sure they’re all underpaid and overworked, so I don’t blame them, but it was annoying!

      Of course I had to give you a shout out! I almost forgot about my crazy cart and your post reminded me! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It’s getting to be quite the adventure! Despite the bit of stress here and there, I’m pretty pleased so far! Relatively smooth sailing!

Leave a Reply

