Fresh Fish: Diamond Tetras

I got some new friends today and I am so very, very excited!

wpid-20140327_125359.jpgour hate for you is palatable. why are we in a bag?

As you may or may not know, I have a fish tank and am very fond of it. I love a good aquarium set up and have been keeping fish for about ten years. My first few years were when I was a teenager and I have learned a lot since them. I professionally worked in a store that sold pet fish for six years and learned even more. I’ve been around the block a bit. My favorite kind of fish tanks are tanks that focus on one species, I have found that to be the most successful. Also, a tank must be well planted and have a variety of places for the fish to hide. This achieves two goals, if all the fish are the same species, they will be more colorful, less stressed and more likely to breed. A well planted tank prevents fighting and allows the fish to hide, again, reducing stress, improving coloration and achieving a more “wild” look to the tank.

My tank is only a twenty gallon tank, which is not very big. It’s not the most impressive piece of furniture in the room and it doesn’t allow for very many species to exist in it successfully. However, it completely fits my needs.

Right before I moved in with my fiance, I had diamond tetras. They are my absolute favorite fish. My tank held about 5 or 7 at a time and they would breed. I had those exact fish (plus or minus a few for breeding and random deaths) for about five years. They were stunning. Colorful, elegant, hearty, absolutely stunning. About a week before I moved in something (and I am not clear what) killed all of them. I am assuming it was an electrical problem, honestly, fish that are that old and have been that successful don’t all die immediately overnight. Every stinking one was gone. In a way, I was lucky, I didn’t have to worry about moving them and stressing them out. But it was still sad. So my fishtank was bare for several months, until I got all new electrical (filters, lights and heater) for the tank, which was expensive. After that, I let it run for about a month to make sure everything was in working order and I was not in a hurry.

Unwisely, I decided to change the species in my tank. I decided to get leopard danios, also known as Zebra Fish. Everyone who knew I had fish thought that I should get a different species after having “the same old, same old” for so long. I honestly don’t know why I listened to them. I think I choose the danios because they are ridiculously hardy. I also got 3 other fish, I can’t remember what they were called, but they were like a golden danio, which is basically an albino version of the leopards. I guess I liked them plenty, but it wasn’t the same. The selection at the particular store was crap. I wasn’t as dedicated, they weren’t as pretty. I don’t even know why I didn’t stick with my once species rule. That’s what made my tank in the past, why did I get two different kinds? They didn’t start off well either. Despite being hardy, two died right away and one was, um, special looking. I didn’t really even feel like getting replacements. I kept the ones that lived and today I cleaned out the tank and saw that there were only two left.  Out of six. That is terrible. I’ve had them about a year and that is just terrible.

So I decided to get the fish I want, diamond tetras!

wpid-20140327_125638.jpgthis is the male, closest to the camera. you can tell by his fancy sexy fins!

wpid-20140327_125607.jpgit is stupid hard to take a picture of fish.

I searched the store, diamond tetras aren’t always easy to find and then…I saw them…6 perfectly fat, happy and lively diamond tetras. They had been in the store for a while. Perfect. Perfect. The poor clerk had to chase them down and bag them for me.

wpid-20140327_125320.jpgRELEASE US!!!

I left them in the bag for about ten minutes for the water to adjust to temperature and released them. I can’t tell you how much happier I am about them. I still have the two danios, which hopefully will coexist peacefully. In all likelihood, everyone should play pretty nice. The danios can school together and right now my fat happy diamond tetras are schooling. The male, there might be more than one, but the dominant one, is keeping his little school in shape. There might be two other males, I can’t tell yet. But anyway, I am very pleased with my new fish! I feel like I am back in the hobby!

I do have concerns, my tank is over in the amount of fish it should have. As long as I am very careful not to overfeed them and make sure to do proper water changes, they should do just fine. But at least I am back to being excited about it!

One of these days I’ll do a post on how to start a fish tank, for anyone who is interested. It’s a very easy and rewarding hobby. Many people who just start a fish tank often overcomplicated the process and make it much harder on themselves. It doesn’t have to be overwhelming! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Fresh Fish: Diamond Tetras

Leave a Reply

