Kefir Grains

Let’s just pause for a moment and enjoy this video. It’s 11 seconds. Savor it:

Wasn’t that just delicious? Ok, back to the grain version of kefir that doesn’t attack things.

Aspiring Traquilista delivered my kefir grains yesterday and I left them out overnight in milk as suggested. This morning I decided to have a look and a taste!

wpid-20140309_084706.jpgwell, it clearly is something.

She did leave me with directions, thankfully, although they weren’t difficult, I am not always clever.

Step one:

Strain

wpid-20140309_084920.jpgcheck.

Look at all those clumps! Those are the actual kefir grains, what a weird thing. Sorry, moving on.

Step Two:

Put grains back into a clean glass jar

wpid-20140309_085315.jpgfeed us, jerk!

Step Three:

Pour milk over them and cover. Leave at room temperature for 12-24 hours to ferment.

wpid-20140309_085536.jpgstill with the sage green yarn, at least it looks festive now.

I did not rinse the grains as some have suggested. I also used whole milk as I refuse to buy anything low or reduced fat. I once accidentally bought reduced fat peanut butter and then I wept for days. It tasted like vaseline. I only buy whole fat products because, let’s face it, we need fat in our diet and fat is not what makes you fat. I could post a thousand more links on that, but roll with me here. Bottom line, I am willing to trade 20 to 100 more calories for taste and satisfaction. Ok, so off the soap box. What do I have after straining?

wpid-20140309_085554.jpghi?

It’s actually thinner than I thought it would be.

wpid-20140309_085615.jpglike buttermilk

I am not sure how long she was fermenting, but it was definitely sour. It tasted like buttermilk kind of smells. Not exactly delicious on it’s own, but not bad. Just needs some help.

wpid-20140309_085757.jpgcinnamon and honey to the rescue!

The taste was much better after that, the more I ate it, the more I liked it. New food is like that, you usually need at least three or more tastes before you can decide whether you like it or not. Tomorrow I am going to try it in a smoothie!

7 thoughts on “Kefir Grains

  1. Very nice. I was pondering to make some kefir from some leftovers of my favorite kind at some point. We’ll see if and when I will get to it. But at least one of us has made some. Go you. 🙂

  2. By the way 100% sure this method works for bacterial milk cultures now. Since I discovered the tutorial I have been making batch after batch. I probably won’t need to buy buttermilk at the store again for a loong time. Yay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

