Wedding Planning

Ok, so I PROMISE this isn’t a wedding blog. But I was thinking about it and I decided I should at least make one post about the plan for the whole affair and one post after the affair so you all can see how it turned out. I mean, I don’t know about you, but I am pretty nosy. That’s why I read blogs. I like hearing about what you all are up to!

Secondly, sorry for the lack of posts lately. I’ve been working during the day and that keeps me, um, uncrafty. I am by far and away more of a morning person and in the evening all I want to do is be a bum.

So about that wedding! June 28th is the big day!

wpid-20140218_102534.jpgok, I am in the backyard. it’s cold, i’m going inside. you’ve gotta use your imaginations today, guys.

Well, firstly, it’s going to be in our backyard. Which is currently covered in snow, otherwise I would have provided some helpful photos. The “theme” if you will indulge me, is back yard all American picnic. With that in mind I have made a few rules:

1. Casual dress. Well, no jeans.

2. No matchy-matchy bridesmaids dresses. Buy a dress that can be worn again. I don’t even care what color. The one thing I don’t like about weddings is how everyone looks like they are in a costume. Sure, dressing up is fun, I rather like it too, but I don’t want it for my wedding.

3. World’s Shortest Ceremony. I should just make that an acronym. WSC. Ya got 5 minutes to hitch it.

4. Copious amounts of booze. Duuuuuuuuh!

5. Have fun!

With all that in mind, I have rented a large tent, two portapotties and a pig roast crew. We will also buy booze in bulk and hire somebody to bar tend. The side dishes will be home made, just salads and picnic fair. And bread. Loads of bread. My maid of honor is cranking out crochet washcloths and we are going to make soap to give out as gifts. Finally! We haven’t made soap in forever. It’s so much better than store bought soap. When we do finally get around to that, I will make a big post all about it.

Let’s see, what else? For dessert we are having cookies and ice cream because I don’t like cake. Also, I can make cookies, I have never really made cake. My maid of honor is flying in a week early (she lives in Florida, lucky!) and she’s going to help with all of that.

Fairly soon here I am going to start making my dress. It is going to be crochet and then lined in violet fabric. At least that’s where I am at now. I have a pattern for the skirt and I am probably going to just wing it for the top, I just want a halter, nothing crazy. I might not even wear shoes. I don’t know yet! I might not even wear makeup. I don’t really wear it normally, so why would I? I suppose I should leave that decision for later!

Nope, not getting my nails done. Not ever. My grandma blessed me with beautiful nails. If there is one part of me that is vain, it’s my nails. I’ve got awesome nails. Not getting my hair done, I’ll probably just put it in a half pony or a simple updo. Ugh, that’s one thing I really can’t stand. Crazy updos. They just don’t look good to me. I mean, toΒ  each there own, I am not here to say anything about anyone, but I would never. It’s not my style.

My brother is a musical genius. For real, no joke. The kid is a master. So he’s going to write music and play for us. Like classical piano, not rock band soft pop or something. Funny aside, we were once at a wedding where they had only a CD player for music. Which is fine, whatever, but there was a piano. So my brother heads over to the piano and starts playing “Sweet Child o’ Mine” by Guns and Roses, only here’s the kicker, he played in the style of swing, so it sounded more like jazz. Hilarious. Little old ladies were coming up and telling him how beautiful he was playing. He did the same thing with “Freebird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, which was also HILARIOUS. He does have a YouTube channel, by the way, it’s BassPlayer60134, but just to warn you, he’s not a great singer. He can hit the notes, just doesn’t have the voice. Also he’s a dork. But he’s my big brother. This is one of my favorites of his songs. Lolz, I promise.

So that’s about it. I mean I am not spending weeks crafting table arrangements, I am just going to plant a bunch of flowers into clay pots. That way they can also be taken home. I refuse to buy cut flowers. Do I need a bouquet? I can carry a pot of marigolds, right? Ha! Wouldn’t that be a riot? I would die laughing. We’ll see what I come up with. I’ll probably get more ideas as we get closer, but honestly, I feel no need to go nuts about it. I am not bridezilla. I just want a nice party.

wpid-20140205_093134.jpgthis is my bridezilla face…right…?

That’s pretty much it. If you think of anything I am missing, please leave a comment! I’ve never done this before! Also, I did another experiment with Francine that I will post about in a few! Ta-ta for now!

11 thoughts on “Wedding Planning

  1. Sounds nice what you are planning. That’s the what we did, a picnic sort of theme and everyone comfortable and it worked. I was thing since you don’t like cut flowers how about fragrant herbs as a bouquet. Post away about your wedding, have fun you only do this once.

  2. Casual is fun! We had a great time at our wedding, and so did our guests. I mean, weddings these days are so over the top. I have to admit that my friends and I made all of our decorations, but we kept it simple. I also crocheted my bouquet. It’ll last forever. About twelve (I think) crocheted roses and a doily. Everyone thought it was nifty. And our wedding vows lasted exactly 2.35 minutes according to the video. Top that! ;P

    Don’t go nuts about it, and everything will be just fine.

  3. I forgot to ask, will you be having kids at your wedding? If so, I have an activity book I can send you that I made for my wedding. The kids there loved it and it kept them busy for most of the reception. Well, they were older (10 and up) but … just in case you’re interested.

    • Actually we’re having a strictly no kids wedding. The main reason is, well, we don’t know that many people with kids (that aren’t 18) and we want our friends with kids to not have to worry about watching them at the wedding. But that is a really good idea! Weddings have to be boring for kids.

  4. Cool plan. We got married in secret. Did as little stuff as Possible. Ultimately we still had a fabulous day with good memories. Every day is short. Keep it focussed on what you want!

Leave a Reply

