Trials, Errors and Tantrums of Sewing

Man, sewing is hard. I mean, I didn’t expect to just waltz up to my sewing machine, declare my intentions and have magical garments come flying out, but this is not easy. Well, it probably is, it’s just all so strange to me. I even tried buying it flowers and telling it that it is very pretty and mature for it’s age.

I have no idea what I am doing and I don’t know any seamstresses or anyone with particular experience in garment making. It might be the book I got, it’s a great book. but the instructions just seem to fly out of left field. Like I will be humming along and then I get: Step 10: Sacrifice a Goat to Our Great Leader. What? What are you talking about? I am a beginner! I have no idea. What are these magical dots that are supposed to line up? Why are you telling me to carve three 6’s into my wall? Why didn’t you tell me that this piece needed to be a mirror image of the other, not the same? What stitch do you want me to use? WHAT IS THE POINT OF PICTURES IF THEY DON’T HELP WHATSOEVER?!?*

Ok, deep breath…

It’s me, it’s totally me.

It was like this when I started crochet patterns, too. Some of them, whew, I don’t even to this day know what they were talking about. I just went, OK MAKE THIS A THING and went for it. Usually I worked it out. I just have to keep calm, read and reread the instructions. Plan it all out, go slow. Repeat to myself: Get the experience, learn from what you’re doing. Pay attention. It will start to click eventually. No one starts out a professional.

I could always, ya know, get lessons, but what’s the fun in that????

So that’s how my “easy” skirt is going, in case you wanted to know. Plenty of tantrums. Oh, and I probably am making it entirely too large because I CAN’T STOP MYSELF.

maybe janis can help. i want her wardrobe.

*p.s. the part about the book was entirely a joke and if you took any of that seriously, please go somewhere and look at pictures of cats. the book is just fine, it’s actually really helpful, i am just a mouth breathing idiot. my skills include fogging a mirror and keeping a seat lukewarm.

10 thoughts on “Trials, Errors and Tantrums of Sewing

  1. I know what you mean. I can sew my kids’ Halloween costumes but anything that actually has to look good and stand up to wear, I’m out of luck. I’m with you though, I’m going to keep plugging along! We’ll get it eventually and then won’t people be jealous of our wonderfully fitted wardrobes?

  2. Hang in there. πŸ™‚ When I first started sewing 18 months ago, it was the same. And it is for everyone. I googled literally every sewing term and watched tutorials till I got what they meant (sometimes till 4 AM πŸ˜‰ ). Now I’m confident with hand-sewing. And since yesterday I’m cross with my sewing machine. I look at my stays, wondering just how much neater they would have looked hand-sewn… Dad actually complained that I yelled at Obi after about every row of stitching. It really is a big learning curve for every beginning seamstress and you’re not alone. πŸ™‚ As for matching the dots or notches: You will learn to appreciate them once it comes to easing in seams. πŸ˜‰

      • You’re welcome. A break really helps, sometimes. And blogging does, too, because you get to write about your progress and meet those people who have been there themselves. πŸ™‚

  3. Have you tried Youtube? There are oodles and oodles of videos for sewing on there and sometimes it helps to actually, you know, see what the book is talking about then scream at it, “I don’t know what that MEANS!” before throwing it at the wall. (Nope, I’ve never done that. Not me.)

Leave a Reply

