Trading French Bread for an Ironing Board…

Did I ever tell you I love my friends? I do. Obviously, who doesn’t? But I have an amazing collection of friends. Yesterday while ironing out my fabric for my skirt on my wee little ironing board, I decided to shout out on Facebook to see if anyone had a real ironing board they would be willing to trade for. At 4 pm I sent the message. At 8 pm, my former neighbor, R, had procured me one by posting the same shout out on her page. How amazing is that? I am trading her french bread for the board and meeting her on Tuesday. I started my pre-frement today.

wpid-20140209_081538.jpgusing the mother starter

wpid-20140209_081734.jpgshaggy mess

wpid-20140209_083144.jpgnow we’re behaving!

wpid-20140209_084701.jpgit looks small, but it will grow…a lot…

wpid-20140209_084847.jpghiding it under a towel, a personally crafted bread towel I might add.

Seriously though, I am thoroughly impressed. I figured an ironing board was a long shot. But my former neighbor, not only is she a freaking riot (I can’t wait to see her, honestly) she came through for me! Her and her husband were the best neighbors you could ever ask for. Even her kid, going through teenage years, was absolutely hilarious and well behaved. He’s in the Navy now and I wish him all the best. Now, I am not trying to illustrate them as a bunch of well meaning fuddy duddies. Oh, no, they were literally a riot. Her husband looks like Caption Spaulding. Not even pretending to be kidding you. When I hang out with them I usually spent most of the time trying not to pee myself laughing. They are crass, honest and good people. My favorite kind of people. You can’t buy that.

Some Updates:

Still getting over this cold! Boo! But feeling much better!

My romaine and celery continue to do not a whole lot. Maybe I will plant them in the garden when it thaws. I’ve added another romaine butt and now three celery butts. They’re…doing stuff….

wpid-20140209_122454.jpgcan’t make a salad yet

The amaryllis is really kicking it into gear, thankfully!

wpid-20140209_122535.jpgpictured: not a slacker

And someone needs to tell my christmas cactus that it is not christmas…

wpid-20140209_122422.jpgpictured: certainly has no idea what month it is

3 thoughts on “Trading French Bread for an Ironing Board…

Leave a Reply

