African Flowers for A Bridal Shower

Today I got working on gifts for a dear friend of mine who is getting married. I am working on placemats, tea towels, napkins and a centerpiece doily thing. I had her send me pictures of her kitchen for inspiration and I think I am in a pretty good place.

Originally I was thinking of doing a something fairly straight forward. But then I remembered, AFRICAN FLOWERS! Who the heck doesn’t love African Flowers?!? I have the world’s worst written pattern for them, hands down. I don’t remember where I got it from (the paper it’s printed on is dated 12/22/2011) but I copied and pasted it from somewhere. It might have been a few different sources, I was pretty new to crochet patterns at the time. I also am an idiot. I might have just hen picked instructions and pasted them into a document. However, despite being the worst written pattern, it is the EASIEST to mindlessly count. Trust me, I’ve tried a few. Even pictures. No help. I like this pattern because the flowers lay flat and as I said, it is easy to drift away and crochet happily without having to resort to counting every row over and over and frog out your miss counts. So I am going to attempt to rewrite it for you, if you would like to give it a chance.

African Flowers Motif

  • Notes: Unless mentioned, finish each round off individually with a sl st, colors can be changed every round.
  • On Round 3, if you’re not changing colors, you can slip stitch over to the correct space
  • Round 4 uses a dc spike stitch into Round 3, here are some pictures to help. Trust me, very easy and adds a lot of interest to any project.

Ch 5

Sl st into the first ch to make a ring

Round 1: Ch 3, dc into ring, *ch 1, 2 dc into ring* repeat 4 times (12 stitches total) Sl st into 3rd ch of initial 3 ch to close.

Round 2: Ch 3 into the space just to the right of the ch 3 in the previous round. Dc into same space and ch 1. *2 dc, ch 1 in each ch 1 space from previous round* (24 stitches)

 Round 3: Ch 3 in 1 ch sp from previous round, 6 dc, ch 3. *7 dc into next ch space, ch 3* (six petals)

Round 4: Insert hook into the first dc of the petal, ch 1, sc into same stitch (counts as first sc), sc 6 (7 sc total). Dc spike stitch into Round 3, *7 sc, dc spike stitch into Round 3* to beginning.

Round 5: Ch 3, 2 dc *[dc, ch 1, dc into same st] 7 dc*

Finish off and weave in ends!

I hope this helps, let me know if I missed anything, I am going off of a terrible template. I think I corrected most of it/made it easier to read.

I added a round of sc, increasing in the corners.

I made seven total and used a mattress stitch to sew them together.

To finish off my project, I did a final sc border, increasing stitches at the corners:

wpid-20140715_094433.jpgwheeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Part One of her gifts is finished! The placemats are done, it’s off to the napkins. When I am all done, I will post pictures.

7 thoughts on “African Flowers for A Bridal Shower

    • Thank you! I like the colors a bunch, I like making stuff for my friends so I can make something different, that I wouldn’t make for myself. But this one tempts me…

Leave a Reply

